What is herpes in cats?

Herpesvirus infection, also known as feline viral rhinotracheitis (FVR), is an infectious disease caused by feline herpesvirus type-1. The most common way for the herpes virus to spread is through contact with discharge from an infected cat's eyes, mouth or nose.