When was the cinnamon challenge popular?

The challenge has been described online since 2001, increased in popularity in 2007, and peaking in January 2012. However, while tolerable in very small amounts, in larger concentrated amounts cinnamon can cause kids to gag, cough, choke, and have a burning sensation in the mouth, nose, and throat