What's the biggest category hurricane?

The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale ranges from 1 to 5 with a category 5 having sustained winds of 157 mph (252 kmh) or higher. A cat 5 can and will destroy most framed homes and leave an area uninhabitable for weeks or months.