What year did bethany hamilton get bit by a shark?

While out with her best friend and her best friend's dad and brother, Bethany was attacked on October 31, 2003 while surfing in Tunnels Beach in Kauai, Hawaii. The 14-foot tiger shark bit off her left arm just below the shoulder in the vicious attack.