What is dinosaur kale?

Dinosaur kale, also known as Tuscan kale and black kale, is an heirloom variety of kale. Its official name is lacinato kale (Brassica oleracea ‘Lacinto.’ It lacks the slightly bitter taste of regular (curly) kale, and is widely used in Italy.