Why is the pink moon called a pink moon?

The name "Pink Moon" comes from the bloom of ground phlox, a pink flower common in North America, according to The Old Farmer's Almanac. It has also been called the Sprouting Grass Moon, the Egg Moon and the Fish Moon.

---

The pink moon earned its name not because of its color, but because of a plant that blooms in the spring. The April full moon is known as the pink moon on account of the herb moss pink, also known as wild ground phlox.