Why do cats climb up trees?

Cats climb trees to keep safe. When cats feel threatened, their instinct is to find somewhere high. A nearby tree will very often be this safe sanctuary. Domesticated cats find higher places more relaxing & will seek these higher spots to chill out. Cats also climb trees to hunt for prey like birds.