How many miles is it from earth to outer space?

Earth's atmosphere is a gas whose density decreases exponentially with increasing altitude. It doesn't have a hard-edge that is definitively outer space. Many consider the top edge of the exosphere, an altitude of 6200 miles, the be the upper edge of the atmosphere beyond which lies outer space.