What's a sniper gun?

A sniper rifle use to just be any rifle used in a covert operation from a lone and usually long distance gunner. The best was Simuna Häyhä nicknamed "White Death". He used a M28-30 rifle. He preferred an iron sight over a telescopic sight. Now sniper rifles are heavily modified with longer muzzles.