Why is a fire truck called fire truck?

Fire trucks in fire service parlance are apparatus with a fixed hydraulic ladder or an elevated platform. They are distinguished from engine companies by mission. Truck companies or truckies vent the fire and smoke out of the building and perform search and rescue. Engine companies apply water.