What happens if a kid touches an elf?

Every time a child touches an elf, particularly an Elf on a Shelf, Santa brings them one less gift on Christmas morning. Elves have also been known to go on strike when they are touched, potentially bringing Christmas itself to a halt. A loss of magic can also occur.