Which creature walks on four legs in the morning two legs in the afternoon and three legs in the evening?

This is a well known riddle from ancient times. The answer is a human. 4 legs in the morning is a baby crawling. 2 legs in the afternoon is an older child or adult that walks using its legs. 3 legs in the evening is an elderly person who uses a cane or walking stick to help them walk.