What's the smallest thing in existence?

But the atom is not the smallest unit of matter. Experiments found that each atom has a tiny, dense nucleus, surrounded by a cloud of even tinier electrons. The electron is, as far as we know, one of the fundamental, indivisible building blocks of the universe.