What are flower mites?

The flour mite, Acarus siro, a pest of stored grains and animal feedstuffs, is one of many species of grain and flour mites. An older name for the species is Tyroglyphus farinae. The flour mite, which is pale greyish white in colour with pink legs, is the most common species of mite in foodstuffs.