Why are farm eggs brown?

The color of an egg is determined by the breed of the chicken that lays it. Breeds that lay brown eggs are often better foragers and better able to defend against predators, so they're ideal for free-range cultivation. White layers produce more eggs per pound of feed and are well suited to cages.