When was the first vinyl record released?

In 1931, RCA Victor launched the first commercially available vinyl long-playing record. These discs were designed for playback at ​33 1⁄3 rpm and pressed on a 30 cm diameter flexible plastic disc, with a duration of about ten minutes playing time per side.