What is the theme of the song a thousand years?

The theme of the song, “A Thousand Years,” is falling in love. Christina Perri depicts herself as someone who has been waiting her entire life to fall in love. She proclaims that she has loved this person “for a thousand years” and intends to do so “for a thousand more.”