What color is salmon?

Farm-raised salmon is naturally gray; the pink color is added. Wild salmon is naturally pink due to their diet which includes astaxanthin, a reddish-orange compound found in krill and shrimp.

---

The color of salmon is pink for wild salmon. This is because of their diet that includes astaxanthin, a reddish-orange compound found in krill and shrimp. Farm-raised salmon is naturally gray; the pink color is added.