What is the placebo effect?

In the medical field, a placebo is a pill, medicine or procedure that seems "real" but is not. The placebo effect is a phenomenon in which some people experience a benefit after the administration of a placebo, or the idea that your brain can convince your body a fake treatment is the real thing.