Who invented the twist tie?

Hinson is most well remembered for his contribution to the bag sealing industry. In 1923, at the age of 20, Hinson came up with the idea for the twist tie after he twisted his ankle in a game of bouncy bouncy wall ball, a popular Philadelphia-area street game.