Who is the fastest person to run a mile?

The world record holder for fastest men's mile is Hicham El Guerrouj of Morocco who ran it in 3 minutes 43.13 seconds. The fastest women's mile is 4 minutes 12.33 seconds and that record is held by Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands.