What's the tallest mountain in the world?

Mauna Kea, an island in the Pacific ocean, is the tallest mountain from base to peak. Although Mount Everest has a higher altitude, it is over 1000 meters shorter from base to peak than Mauna Kea.

---

While the highest point above sea level is the peak of Mount Everest, Mauna Kia is taller because it begins 19,700 feet below sea level.