What is a g. s. fourteen?

GS-14 is the 14th paygrade in the General Schedule G S payscale for most civilian Federal government employees. The scale runs from 1 to 15 and GS-14 is reserved for top-level positions such as supervisors, high-level technical specialists, and top professionals holding advanced degrees.