Does rain make snow?

Rain does not make snow, but both come from clouds. Clouds are made of water vapor. Rain occurs when clouds condense the water vapor into water droplets and it falls from them. Snow occurs when clouds are very cold. The water vapor instead forms ice crystals and falls from them.