When do the cicadas go away?

Cicada season varies based upon the location and species of cicadas. Most cicadas in North America are the annual cicada, which emerge in June to August. For periodical cicadas, which show up in huge numbers, check out your State’s University Extension Service for the forecasted season in your area.