How do you untie a tie?

I use the Sinatra method: nice ‘n easy does it every time. First gently loosen the knot with a side to side motion, then carefully pull the small end through the knot. Don’t yank it out, or you could stretch, fray or even rip the fabric, especially if it’s a cheap, or old tie.