What makes sour cream?

You can make sour cream by adding 3/4 teaspoon of distilled white vinegar to 1/4 cup milk. Let it sit for 10 minutes. Pour 1 cup heavy cream into a jar and stir in the milk mixture. Cover the jar, leave it at room temperature for 24 hours, then chill and serve.