What's the difference between aioli and mayonnaise?

Many people consider all flavored mayonnaises to be aioli, but some purists believe that egg must not be present to be considered an aioli.

---

Although aioli and mayonnaise are both creamy emulsions, aioli is made from garlic and olive oil while mayo is made from egg yolks and canola oil. The final result may look similar but the two sauces have distinctly different flavors.