What's the difference between aioli and mayonnaise?

The main difference between aioli and mayonnaise is that aioli is an emulsion made with garlic and extra virgin olive oil while mayonnaise is an emulsion made of oil, egg yolks, and lemon juice or vinegar. Aioli has a different flavor from mayonnaise due to strong garlic and virgin olive oil flavor.