Is a dolphin a whale?

Yes. Dolphins and whales are cetaceans and share the same ancestor as the hippopotamus, having diverged from the land-based mammal some 54 million years ago. The largest dolphin, known as the Orca or “killer whale”, is also one of the largest whales.