How do you neutralize spice?

Acidic ingredients such as lemon or lime juice, vinegar, wine, tomatoes & even pineapple help to neutralize the pH levels of a spicy oil & reduce some of that flaming-hot flavor. Add the juice of half a lemon or lime or a tablespoon or 2 of wine, vinegar or tomato sauce to your overspiced dish.