What time of year do raccoons have babies?

They are most active in spring, summer and fall, and will sleep in their dens for most of the winter. Reproduction: Reproduction begins in late winter. Females usually give birth to 1-6 baby kits in April or May. Mothers are very protective of their young until they separate after about a year.