How did coffee get the nickname cup of joe?

Linguists believe "cup of joe" came into being as a corruption of another common nickname: jamoke. Jamoke was itself a combination of nicknames java and mocha. Experts believe that, over time, jamoke may have transformed into joe, since it's natural for slang terms to shorten over the years.