What is squirrels like to eat?

Most types of squirrels are vegetarians. They are not picky eaters and will feed on practically any food that’s readily available, but they tend to prefer vegetables and fruit. A squirrel’s diet also consists of nuts, insects, seeds, eggs and plant materials like flower bulbs and roots.