What kind of wine is tempranillo?

Tempranillo is a black grape variety widely grown to make full-bodied red wines in its native Spain. Its name is the diminutive of the Spanish temprano, meaning "early". This is a reference to the fact that this grape ripens several weeks earlier than most Spanish red grapes.