What's the difference between flip flops and sandals?

While a sandal may have a single large strap across your instep akin to a flip flop, if it has ankle support, it is a sandal and not a flip flop. The distinguishable ankle strap look means sandals offer better foot support than flip flops do. Flip flops have no ankle support.