Why are there white pumpkins?

Originally thought to be a mutation of classic orange pumpkins, White pumpkins have increased in popularity and are being specifically bred for their white color. They are most commonly used as ornamental decorations for fall displays, but some varieties can also be cooked and used for baked goods.