How do sesame seeds grow?

According to Huff Post, the fruit is a long pod that looks sort of like okra, and grows on the sesame plant, which is native to Asia and East Africa. As the fruits dry, the pods begin to open, revealing the seeds inside. To extract sesame seeds, the dried out plants are shaken to release seeds.