Where did the phrase in the nick of time come from?

Phrases.com says, The nick was a notch or small cut and was synonymous with precision. So the Nick of Time means precisely the correct moment. This was used to shorten the phrase "pudding time'. To arrive at pudding time was to arrive at the start of the meal, just in time to eat.