Where do popcorn come from?

Popcorn, like all six types of corn, is a cereal grain and originates from a wild grass. Its scientific name is Zea mays everta, and it is the only type of corn to actually pop. Popcorn is made up of three main components: endosperm, germ and the pericarp (also known as hull or bran).

---

It has been found in Peruvian tombs and the native Americans also made it. I don't believe anyone truly knows just when and who invented it.