Can you substitute white vinegar for rice vinegar?

Yes, you can use white vinegar instead of rice vinegar in some recipes, specially in homemade salad dressing. Rice vinegar is sweeter than white vinegar, so adding a quarter teaspoon to each tablespoon of white vinegar often helps.