Is horseback riding considered a sport?

No, horse riding is an activity, not a sport. There are sports where you do ride horses like horse racing, polo, dressage, show jumping, pole bending, calf-roping, and eventing. Most of these sports require the rider to in top physical shape as well as having a lot of training.