What is the mathematical definition of mode?

The mathematical definition of mode is the number that occurs most often in a data set. In other words, it is the most frequent number — the number that occurs the highest number of times. For example, if the data set was 4, 2, 7, 3, 1, 3, 8, 3, & 1; the mode would be 3 because it occurs most often.