What are saturated colors?

Color saturation is the intensity and purity of a color as displayed in an image. The higher the saturation of a color, the more vivid and intense it is. The lower a color's saturation, the closer it is to pure gray. Cadmium orange is a high saturation color, burnt sienna is a low saturation color.

---

To me, saturated colors are when the hue is as deep as possible.