What kind of wine goes with chicken parmesan?

A medium-bodied red wine like a light Merlot or Pinot Noir pairs very well with chicken parmesan because of the richness of the pasta. If the sauce is really heavy with stewed tomatoes, though, it's okay to pair it with an Italian Chianti or full-bodied cabernet sauvignon