How do you know if a clam has a pearl?

There are no obvious signs that an oyster, mussel, or clam has a pearl inside. You just have to open it to see; it's kind of like a guessing game. That being said, larger oysters, mussels, or clams may have pearls because they've had a longer time to develop.