What's the difference between a chutney and a jam?

According to webstaurantstore.com, The main difference is that jam is sweet and chutney is savory. Chutneys can be made with sweet ingredients like fruits, but the added spices and vinegar make the condiment something spicy and fragrant. Jams also often contain pectin which creates a thick texture.