What color is sea weed?

Seaweeds can be of three different colors – green, red or brown. They all contain the light-absorbing pigment chlorophyll, which is necessary for photosynthesis. Brown and red seaweeds have additional pigments that enable them to photosynthesize at depths where little light penetrates.