What is the history of roanoke virginia?

Roanoke was derived from the Indian word "Rawrenock," a name for the shell beads worn by the Indians and used as trade goods. In 1882, Roanoke became a crossroads for the railroad, which eventually became the Norfolk and Western Railway.