How long can a dog stay out in sub zero temperatures?

Dogs should not be left outside in sub-zero temperatures. Even huskies are not equipped to spend long periods of time outside under those conditions. “Dogs can go outside for 15 to 20 minutes at below-freezing temperatures to use the bathroom and play,” says Sara Ochoa, veterinarian.