How hot does a gas fireplace get?

Gas fireplaces usually burn liquid propane or natural gas. Propane has a flame temperature of 3573 degrees Fahrenheit. Natural gas has a flame temperature of 3525 degrees Fahrenheit. The temperature of the fireplace exterior is much lower and varies based on the fireplace.